This site uses cookies to enhance your experience. Please change browser settings to disable cookies if you do not wish to receive them. Privacy Statement on Analytic Cookies.

Shetland Library Opening hours

 

Public Library, Lower Hillhead, Lerwick

Monday & Thursday 10.00 am - 8.00 pm

Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday & Saturday 10.00 am - 5.00 pm

*Public computers close down automatically 10 minutes before closing time.

 

Public Holidays

The Library takes the standard six Shetland Island Council public holidays: Christmas Day, Boxing Day, New Year's Day, 2nd January, Up Helly Aa Wednesday and Easter Monday. We sometimes open slightly different hours between Christmas and New Year.

 

Opening Hours - Community Libraries

Baltasound Community Library (in the school): Open on Tuesday evenings from 4pm to 6pm during school term. Bookbug sessions are also held at 11.30am every Tuesday during term time.

Yell Community Library (in the Mid Yell school): open first Tuesday of every month 4pm - 6pm during school term. Bookbug sessions are also held once a month in Burravoe Primary School last Friday of the month at 10am - check with Karen Malone at the school library for exact dates.

 

Christmas and New Year Period - Opening Hours

Monday 23 December 10.00am - 8.00pm

Tuesday 24 December 10.00am - 5.00pm

Wednesday 25 December CLOSED

Thursday 26 December CLOSED

Friday 27 December 10.00am - 5.00pm

Saturday 28 December 10.00am - 5.00pm

Sunday 29 December CLOSED

Monday 30 December 10.00am - 8.00pm

Tuesday 31 December 10.00am - 5.00pm

Wednesday 1 January CLOSED

Thursday 2 January CLOSED

Friday 3 January 10.00am - 5.00pm

Normal opening hours from Friday 3 January 2020

 

Back to Top